No Slumlord Go

My Tales from the Landlording/Slumlording World

Awkward Phone Conversation #62

leave a comment »

One evening, a tenant’s visitors drank quite a bit.  A lot.  Probably tons.  I would venture to guess there might have been some additional recreational drugs tossed into the equation.  A little trash talkin’ ensued with other tenants in the parking lot.   The drinking visitors went up to a second floor apartment.

The drinking visitors had apparently talked a bit of trash with some other folks in town who found out they were hanging out on my property.  Always great.  Now, I had tenants pissed and previously-pissed town’s people allied against these drinking visitors.  There is always a Paul Revere in the mix.

My peace-loving sensibility cannot quite wrap my arms around what follows.

The angry mob storms up to the second floor apartment to talk a bit more trash with the drinking visitors.  The drinking visitors decided to run from the angry mob.  And, logically, from the second floor, the only choice was to jump through the window screens and fall two stories to the grass.  They ran for their car and jumped in it.  The cops were called, and a chase ensued.

The drinking visitors pulled over for the cop, but, after the cop approached the vehicle, they decided to speed off and drag the police officer with them for ten or so feet.  The police officer was fine.  There was a lovely news story in the paper.

The drinking visitors bailed themselves out of jail and came back to hang out on my property.  I posted a sign stating that these people were not permitted on the property.

On a lovely spring afternoon, I received a phone call from an angry mother of one of the drinking visitors.  She accused me of slander and threatened to sue me.  I simply stated that her son had done a perfectly good job of ruining his own name.  She said, “Well, I don’t blame you.  He’s wild.  He don’t listen to nobody.  And there ain’t no reason for him to be jumpin’ out of windows anyhow.”  Amen.

Written by Jenni

November 2, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment